There were players from Canterbury (C), Marlborough (M), Nelson (N) and one from Wellington (W) at Simcox Stadium (Blenheim Indoor Centre).  Chris Hood and Debbie Stratford were the main tournament organisers.

Top Seed Yi-Sien Lin (C) dominated the Open events.  He won the Men’s Singles against Stuart Amstrong (C) in a high quality final 4-1 where Stuart let a big lead slip in the 4th game which would have made the score 2-2.  Lin also won the Men’s Doubles with William Pringle (C) against Stuart Armstrong/Simon Fenwick (C) 3-1  and the Mixed Doubles with Kali Stratford (M) against Simon Fenwick/Mimi Walle (C) 3-1.

Mimi Walle (C) won the Women’s Singles (Round Robin) and prevented Akiko Goto (C) a third straight singles success.  These two combined to win the Women’s Doubles against Amanda Niblett (C)/ Kali Stratford 3-1.

In the O40 MS Stuart Armstrong found himself 0-2 down against Steve Craw (C) before taking control to win the last 3 games easily.  Mimi Walle continued her domination over Akiko Goto to win the O40 WS 3-0.  The O50 MS was won by Mark Nalder (N) and the O50 WS by Kath Gilchrist (M).  The O60 MS was won by Steve Craw.

Malcolm Wong (W) proved to be the doubles king.  He won the Second Grade MD with Sigmund Sue (M) and O40 & O50 MD with Mark Nalder.  Malcolm was also runner up in the O40 XD with Akiko Goto and the O50 MS.

pic 1: Mark Nalder and Malcolm Wong – O40/O50 MD Winners. pic 2: Malcolm Wong and Sigmund Sue – 2nd Grade MD Winners

Mark Nalder and Malcolm Wong – Marlborough O40 & O50 MD WinnersMalcolm Wong and Sigmund Sue – Marlborough 2nd Grade MD Winners

Attached: Marlborough Open 2010 results