Thanks to Malcolm for this report:

New Titan Club Champion: Ian Talbot
New Titan Club Champion: Ian Talbot
Ian Talbot won his first Titan Club Singles Title when he beat the defending champion Lindsay Ward in the final 4-3 (2-11 9-11 13-11 8-11 11-8 11-7 11-8) After being down 1-3 Ian became more relaxed and adopted a more aggressive approach as he sensed that Lindsay’s attack was waning. Ian’s previous best result was runner up to Depak Patel in 2007. Ian has won the Titan Doubles on 4 occasions (2003, 2004, 2006 and 2007) and the Over 40 Singles twice (2004 & 2006).

Ian had been a leading Wellington junior and he won the Wellington Primary Schools Boy’s Singles (1966), the Wellington Secondary Schools Junior Boy’s Singles (1967) and the Hutt Valley Open Under 18 Boy’s Singles (1971). He stopped playing in 1975 and did not resume playing again until 1995. Recent successes include winning the Wellington Open Over 40 Singles the last 2 years.

In the Club Doubles Depak Patel/Elias Villanueva beat Keith Aldersley/Paul Brown 3-1 Lindsay Ward retained his Over 40 Singles when he beat Bryan McConnochie 4-3 (11-9 9-11 9-11 11-9 9-11 12-10 11-5). Bryan held 2 match points at 10-8 in the 6th game when Lindsay called a time out. Lindsay then slowed the game down and won the next 4 points to take the game and then ran away with the 7th game to take the match. Jack Blackmore won the Over 80 Singles beating Norman Bishop 3-1 (12-10 11-6 7-11 11-5).

Ian Talbot, Lindsay Ward, Depak Patel and Malcolm Wong – all Titan Club Singles Champions
Ian Talbot, Lindsay Ward, Depak Patel and Malcolm Wong – all Titan Club Singles Champions

The Titan Club Championships were only started in 1994. Lindsay Ward has won the most singles (7). Ian Talbot and Malcolm Wong share the most doubles wins (4). The Club Singles and Doubles winner are listed below:

Singles                  Doubles

1994  Nha Nguyen         Not held						
1995  Malcolm Wong       Win Nguyen & Jake Yang
1996  Nha Nguyen         Danny Lam & Jake Yang
1997  Nha Nguyen         Matthew Hobbs & Malcolm Wong 
1998  Win Nguyen         Malcolm Wong & William Yang
1999  Win Nguyen         Malcolm Wong & William Yang
2000  Win Nguyen         Nha Nguyen & Win Nguyen		
2001  Lindsay Ward       Malcolm Wong & William Yang		
2002  Lindsay Ward       Philip McConnochie & Jens Schuering
2003  Catherine Zhou     Chris Talbot & Ian Talbot
2004  Lindsay Ward       Bryan McConnochie & Ian Talbot  
2005  Lindsay Ward       Robert Chung & Bryan McConnochie
2006  Lindsay Ward       Chris Talbot & Ian Talbot
2007  Depak Patel        Chris Talbot & Ian Talbot
2008  Depak Patel        Nha Nguyen & Lindsay Ward
2009  Lindsay Ward       Depak Patel & Raewyn Young
2010  Lindsay Ward       Nha Nguyen & Lindsay Ward
2011  Ian Talbot         Depak Patel & Elias Villanueva