The Club Championships were held at the Ngaio Town Hall on Thursday nights (October 6, 13, 20 and 27).

The Men’s Singles was a repeat of the previous 3 years. The result was the same as John Gan won in a very tough struggle against Matthew Hobbs 4-3 (11-4 11-9 3-11 11-13 7-11 11-7 11-5). John started well to win the first 2 games. Matthew then lifted his game to win the next 3 games to lead 3-2. John then regained control in the last 2 games to win his 8th Club Singles. In the semi finals Matthew beat Darrin Wilkinson 4-0 (11-9 11-5 11-3 11-2) and John beat Malcolm Wong 4-2 (11-4 11-2 10-12 12-10 8-11 11-7).

The Women’s Singles was won by the Dianne Taylor, for the 28th time, against Michelle Kan. Her consistent returning overcame Michelle’s hard hitting in a tough struggle 4-3

The Men’s Doubles was won by John and Jonathan Gan, against the titleholders Matthew Hobbs and Malcolm Wong 3-2 (4-11 11-4 7-11 11-3 11-8). This is the second father and son combination to win the doubles after Bryan and Phillip McConnochie (2001 & 2002).

The Mixed Doubles was won for the first time by Matthew Hobbs and Beth Tait against the titleholders John Gan and Diane Taylor 3-1. Beth is a former Wairarapa Junior Girls Representative and won at the Wairarapa Open, the Under 15 Girl Singles (2003), Under 17 Girls Singles (2005) and Under 19 Girls Singles (2006).

The Over 40 Singles had 3 round robin groups of 3 with the group winners playing off for the title. John Gan won, with Matthew Hobbs 2nd and Malcolm Wong 3rd. The Over 40 Singles Plate 1 was won by Virgil Kan and Plate 2 by Lei Chen. The Over 40 Doubles (Round Robin) was won by Matthew Hobbs and Malcolm Wong from John Gan and Lei Chen (2nd) and Virgil Kan and John Haswell (3rd). The Over 40 Doubles has been held only once before in 2013 when John Gan and Zhidong Yu won.

The Under 40 Singles (Round Robin) was won by Andrew Budden with Jonathan Gan 2nd. The Under 40 Doubles was won by Andrew Budden and Daniel Wilkinson against Jonathan Gan and Michelle Kan 3-2.

Andrew Budden (Wellington Under 15 Boys Representative 1995-96) was playing for the first time since 1996 when he played Premier 2 for Onslow (with Andrew Hunt and Mark Freeman). He was in the Raroa Schools Team (with Mark Freeman and Edward Szeto) that won the 1993 NZ Primary/Intermediate Schools Tournament. Andrew won the 1994 Wellington Intermediate Schools Boys Singles and 1995 Wellington Open Under 15 Boy’s Singles. He and Mark Freeman won the 1994 Wellington Open Under 13 Boy’s Doubles. Also the 1995 Under 15 Boys Doubles at the Hutt Valley, Kapiti, Manawatu , Wairarapa and Wellington Open. In 1996 they won the Hutt Valley and North Island Under 15 Boy’s Doubles. Andrew won the 1996 Wairarapa Open Under 15 Boys Doubles with Cameron Gordon.

The club’s breakup was held on October 27. Thanks to Virgil Kan and his daughters, Michelle and Kimberly, who have been running the Thursday club night, and the Friday junior club night. Next year the junior night will be changed to Thursday.

-Malcolm Wong